SERVICES

LASIK


Browse through these pages to learn about how we have geared our processes and technology to achieve 2 key points for a successful LASIK - accuracy and safety.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT WITH US TODAY


SHINAGAWA LASIK

Shinagawa Eye Centre has a long history of providing LASIK treatment in Singapore. Thousands of patients have had their procedures performed at our Centre since 2008. Get a review from a friend or relative who had their treatment done at our Centre and you will hear about our experienced doctors, advanced technology and our emphasis on having the human touch.


IS LASIK FOR YOU?

LASIK is a laser procedure, used to correct Myopia (Short-sightedness), Hyperopia (Long-sightedness) and Astigmatism; to reduce or eliminate a person's dependence on spectacles and contact lenses. Spectacles could impede those who lead an active lifestyle, especially in sports and games. As an alternative, this same group of people would look to contact lenses for clear vision.

Although contact lenses provide good vision to many people, it has its constraints such as dry eyes and eye allergy. When worn over a prolonged period, it can cause damage to the surface of the eyes due to the lack of oxygen. Furthermore, it can lead to infection of the cornea. In light of these constraints, LASIK is the solution.

As a good candidate for LASIK, you should:

  1. Have a stable spectacle power for at least one year
  2. Not have eye diseases such as keratoconus
    (weak protruding cornea)
  3. Have a suitable range of myopia and/or astigmatism
  4. Not be pregnant

PROCEDURES AVAILABLE

LASIK
The term LASIK is used when the method involves creating a cornea flap.

Conventionally, a blade instrument called Microkeratome is used to create the cornea flap. The flap created is then folded aside, to enable the Excimer laser to do the job of reshaping the cornea. The cornea flap is then put back to its original position.

IntraLase Method
The Microkeratome method has slowly been phased out over the years. These days, doctors will make use of the blade-free method to create the cornea flap. We have been using this method since 2008. Some have also called this the All-Laser LASIK. This is an expensive laser machine which uses an advanced femtosecond laser technology to achieve a more accurate, and safer flap-making procedure.

Because the IntraLase is empowered by computer control precision, it allows the surgeon to customise the depth, width, shape and location in creating a very thin cornea flap in order to customise to the needs of the individual patient.

The IntraLase laser creates air bubbles in the stroma of the cornea. Air bubbles create space and the flap is not lifted until the LASIK surgeon uses a special surgical instrument to lift the cornea flap. This means that the cornea is still intact after the IntraLase laser and the patient can blink normally and walk around normally without fear that the flap will dislodge.

There are several generations of the Intralase in use in Singapore. We have the 5th generation of Intralase - The iFS Intralase Laser available at our centre. This is the latest version of the Intralase. This version lasers 2.5 times faster than the previous generation (FS60), so it takes a much shorter time to complete the procedure. The cornea flap is also more stable and there is less inflammation as less energy is used.

Anaesthesia eye drops are applied

Intralase laser is used to create the cornea flap

The flap is folded to one side and the excimer laser applied to reshape the cornea

The cornea flap is repositioned

Epi-LASIK / PRK / LASEK / No-touch Epi-LASIK

Apart from the above methods in which a cornea flap is made, Epi-LASIK is a method that does not make any cornea flap. A specialised equipment is used to separate a thin layer of cells known as epithelium on the front surface of the cornea. The laser is applied and the thin layer of cells is then placed back over the cornea.

Another way to perform the surgery without the need for a cornea flap is to perform PRK (Photo Refractive Keratectomy), this method involves scraping off the epithelium. A variation of this method involves applying some alcohol over the cornea for a short period of time to make it easier for the cells to be removed, this method is known as LASEK.

Shinagawa Eye Centre has all the above methods but the preferred method to do the no flap technique is to use an even more advanced method: No-touch Epi-LASIK. This method utilizes the advanced Amaris laser to remove the epithelium. This means that there is no need to use any equipment to scrape the skin cells away, the laser does the entire procedure. This reduces surgery time and increases precision. There have been quite a few terms for this particular method of surgery, some call it Bladeless Epi-LASIK or Trans-PRK or Trans Epi-LASIK. The simple way to think of it is No Touch and No Flap.

Not everyone is suitable for this technique. It is important for you to go through an assessment of your eyes and our doctor will determine which method best suits your eyes.

There are some centres in the world that use Relex Smile. This is a less mature technology than LASIK. Unlike LASIK or Epi-LASIK, it cannot treat people with low amounts of short-sightedness and the procedure cannot be done again (enhancement) on the same eye if needed. This method is not truly flapless as it involves disrupting the layers of the cornea such that a small layer of the cornea can be removed through an opening on the side of the cornea.


Our Laser System

Schwind AMARIS laser

The AMARIS laser offers you the leading technology for your laser treatment - superior in all important aspects: Speed, precision, safety and comfort.


Minimum treatment time
The AMARIS works two to three times faster than other laser systems. It is extremely fast and corrects one diopter of myopia within 1.5 seconds, and eight diopters (800 degrees) are ablated within 13 seconds.


Eye tracking in six dimensions

The eyes can involuntarily move in all directions for milliseconds while fixating on the laser light. The AMARIS eye tracker monitors the position of the eye with approximately 1050 measurements per second and thereby compensates any deviation up to the sixth dimension.

Your eyeball can turn left to right and up and down; rotate around its own axis (cyclotorsion) or move up and down along the z-axis. The eye tracker of the AMARIS detects all these eye movements and compensates them.


Exceptionally fine laser beam
The laser beam of the AMARIS have an exceptionally small diameter of only 0.54 millimetres and are thus significantly smaller than others. Further-more they have a special shape. Your cornea becomes especially smooth with this fine beam, therefore allowing a better quality of vision.


Clinical results
A multitude of international clinical studies have documented the excellent treatment quality with AMARIS technology. Visual acuity of 100 percent or better was achieved in nearly all cases. A high percentage of treated patients could see better than before with glasses or contact lenses. The study results also show improved contrast vision.


SOFTWARE MODULATIONS AVAILABLE ON THE EXCIMER LASER

After the flap is created by the IntraLase or the cornea is prepared by the Epi-LASIK method, the excimer laser is applied to reshape the cornea. The following are software modulations available on our excimer laser: the AMARIS laser. Note that it is not the same laser as Intralase which is used to create the cornea flap.

Standard LASIK

This corrects vision problems such as Myopia, Hyperopia and Astigmatism. While this treatment method is available at our Centre, it is not often used. Instead, one of the following customised treatment is used, depending on the needs of the individual eye.

Wavefront-Optimised LASIK

Wavefront-Optimised LASIK is a laser technique which creates a more natural shape of the periphery of the cornea, thus reducing the chances of the night glare effect and improving quality of vision. Almost everyone will benefit from this treatment as the lasered cornea becomes smoother and more natural in shape.

Wavefront-Guided LASIK

Wavefront-Guided LASIK treatment can correct the "higher order" aberrations, therefore allowing an improvement in vision quality. Higher order aberrations are irregularities of the eyes that degrade vision quality. Those with a large amount of these aberrations will benefit from this treatment.


LASIK Xtra

LASIK Xtra refers to the combination of LASIK together with Corneal Collagen Cross-Linking.

Corneal Collagen Cross-Linking (CXL) is a surgical procedure used to strengthen a weakened cornea.

The Avedro KXL system

A newer system, the Avedro KXL system is now available for strengthening the cornea by cross-linking its collagen.


The Avedro KXL system

LASIK Xtra™ - better safety after LASIK

Besides cross-linking corneas with keratoconus (weak cornea disease), the Avedro KXL system has also been used in patients undergoing LASIK. This helps to minimise the weakening effects of LASIK on the cornea by strengthening it with cross-linking treatment. Corneas normally become thinner after LASIK because the excimer laser used removes tissue. This effect is more marked when higher degrees of spectacle power are treated. In a very small percentage of cases, this thinning causes the cornea to bulge forwards and become distorted in a condition called corneal ectasia.

The mechanics of LASIK Xtra™

Performing this addition to a normal LASIK procedure only adds an extra 3 minutes of time.

After the excimer laser has been used to reshape the cornea during a LASIK procedure, special cross-linking medication is applied to the cornea surface. The LASIK flap is replaced. The Avedro KXL system is then positioned over the cornea and the light is shone onto the cornea. This activates the medication in the cornea and cross-links the collagen fibres, making the cornea stronger.

Safety of LASIK Xtra™

The Avedro KXL is CE marked and thus approved for use throughout the European Union. It is also approved for use in Canada and Japan. Overall, cross-linking treatment did not affect the accuracy of the excimer laser in correcting spectacle power and the side-effects are similar to those who just had LASIK without cross-linking done.

LASIK Xtra™

  • A system to strengthen the weakened cornea by ultraviolet light induced cross-linking with riboflavin.
  • Based on established principles which have been in use with older machines for almost 10 years.
  • Improvements include much shorter duration of treatment, better precision with more consistent treatment effect and better safety.
  • Stabilises conditions like keratoconus and corneal ectasia.
  • Useful for LASIK in patients with high spectacle powers and pre-existing thin corneas as it helps to strengthen the cornea.

SIDE EFFECTS OF LASIK

As in all surgical procedures, there are some side effects that may occur after LASIK surgery. Although this surgery is very accurate; perfect vision cannot be guaranteed. Most of the problems after surgery are temporary and do not affect vision. Some of the side effects:

Dry eyes
Dry eyes after laser vision correction is common. This is easily treated with eye drops. This condition does not usually affect vision and will subside within 1 to 2 months.


Night Vision Problems
This refers to seeing glare and star-bursts when looking at bright objects in dim light, for example, headlights of cars at night. It occurs in those whose pupils dilate well in dim light and in those who need a high correction. Not all patients will have this side effect.

For those who observe this effect - it occurs in the early stages after treatment but will gradually diminish over the course of 3 to 4 months. Pupil size in dim light is measured before the surgery and you will be advised if you are at risk of observing this effect after surgery.


Under and Over-corrections
This is uncommon, usually in the range of 1 to 3%. For example, a person with 900 degrees of Myopia may be left with 50 degrees in a case of under-correction. If it does occur a top-up laser can be performed at 3 months after the first laser treatment.


Infection
Infections due to surgery is a rarity, compared to infections caused by contact lens wear. (Antibiotics are given during and after surgery to prevent such occurrence)

Share This:

临床服务

激光手术


阅读以下讯息便可了解Shinagawa如何调整我们的程序与技术以达到精准又安全的激光手术。

今天就与我们预约


SHINAGAWA 激光术

Shinagawa眼科中心在新加坡提供了多年高素质的激光视力矫正手术,从2008年起已为上千名患者实施治疗。向您曾经光顾我们的亲朋好友查询,您会得知本中心拥有经验丰富的医生、先进的技术以及浓厚的人情味。


激光手术适合您吗?

顾名思义,激光视力矫正手术是利用激光技术矫正近视、远视和散光,并减少或消除一个人对眼镜和隐形眼镜的依赖性。配戴眼镜可能会防碍那些过着活跃的体育活动及游戏生活的人士。因此,这群人则会配戴隐形眼镜以获得清晰视力。

虽然隐形眼镜能增强视力,对许多人来说,它还是会造成副作用如眼睛干涩或过敏。长时间配戴隐形眼镜可能会导致眼球表面因缺氧而受损,也可造成角膜感染。排除这些限制的良方正是激光手术。

患者的先要条件如下:

  1. 维持至少一年稳定的眼镜度数
  2. 无眼部疾病,如圆锥角膜(暴露性角膜炎)
  3. 近视度或散光度在适当范围内
  4. 不可是妊娠期的妇女

现有程序

激光手术
激光手术相等于制作角膜瓣的手术。

微型角膜刀是一种刀片式仪器,用于分离角膜瓣。将角膜瓣掀起后,便可对眼角膜照射准分子激光进行重塑。完成后,就把角膜瓣复位。

飞秒激光术
微型角膜板层切割法已渐渐被废除。近年,眼科医生多半会以无刀技术制瓣,而Shinagawa从2008年已开始运用此技术。它也称为无刀激光术,是采用一架非常昂贵的激光仪器,透过先进的飞秒激光术,以达到更准确更安全的制瓣过程。

由于IntraLase® 是以电脑控制精准度的,外科医生可根据患者的需求设定深度、宽度、形状和位置,以制作超薄的角膜瓣。

飞秒激光在角膜基质内制造气泡,而气泡制造空间。外科医生只可采用一种特殊的外科工具掀起角膜瓣。这表示角膜在术后仍完好无损,而患者可照常活动,无须担心角膜瓣脱落。

在新加坡,已运用了几代的飞秒激光术。本中心采用的是最新的第五代iFS飞秒激光手术仪,比第四代的速度快上2.5倍。除了手术时间减短外,制瓣过程也更稳定,而且因能量使用少所以发炎率也低。

将麻醉眼药水滴入眼睛

用飞秒激光制作角膜瓣

将角膜瓣折向一侧,然后照射准分子激光重塑

将角膜瓣重新定位

全激光手术法 / 屈光性角膜切除术(PRK)/ 即准分子激光角膜上皮瓣下磨镶术(LASEK)/ 表面全激光手术法
除了以上制瓣方法,也有无需制瓣的方法,称为全激光手术法。术中应用特定的设备分隔角膜与上皮瓣,接而对准眼角膜照射激光,最后再将上皮瓣复位。

另一种无需制作角膜瓣的手法称为屈光性角膜切除术(PRK),是将角膜上皮瓣消融的手术。在变相的准激光角膜上皮瓣下磨镶术(LASEK)中,术者会短暂地使用乙烯醇以便切削上皮细胞。

Shinagawa眼科中心可实行以上所有手术,但首选的手术法则是更为先进的无瓣技术,表面全激光手术法。它利用快速激光AMARIS消融角膜上皮细胞。由于全程以激光实行,无须采用任何工具切削角膜表层,所以省时也提高精准度。该技术也成为无刀全激光手术法或屈光性角膜切除术。

这项技术不适合每位患者。您务必接受眼科检验,让我们的专科根据您的状况建议最合适的疗程。

一些外国的中心使用的全飞秒激光技术(Relex Smile)比飞秒激光术(LASIK)稍为落后。它无法用于患有低度近视的人士,且不可在同一颗眼睛进行第二次的增强手术。该技术不完全是无瓣技术,因为它须改变角膜层面接而从角膜侧边取出所切削的角膜基质。


Shinagawa的激光矫视系统

快速激光AMARIS 矫视系统

快速激光AMARIS矫视系统以先进的科技为您提供顶尖的激光治疗。不论在速度、精准度、安全性和舒适度方面都是极其优越的。


快速的治疗时间
快速激光AMARIS 矫视系统的速度比其他激光系统快上二至三倍。该技术非常快速,可在1.5秒内纠正近视眼的1个屈光度,并在13秒内消融8个屈光度(800度)。


六维空间的眼球追踪

注视激光时,眼球会不自主地在毫秒内四处转动。快速激光AMARIS 矫视系统的眼球追踪仪可在每秒测量约1050次眼球的位置,从而补偿包括在第六空间的偏差。

您的眼球可绕其自身的轴线向左右及上下转动(眼球旋转),或您的头可向左右及上下摆动。Amaris的眼球追踪仪可测出所有的眼球活动并补偿偏差。


纤细的激光束
Amaris 的激光束具有0.54毫米狭小的直径,显著地比其他激光束小。此外,该激光束的特殊形状能将您的角膜重塑地光滑无比,从而增加视觉的清晰度。


临床结果
许多国际临床研究已记载了AMARIS矫视技术所提供的卓越治疗品质。将近所有的案例都重获了百分之百或更好的视力。多数的患者在接受该治疗后,视觉都比从前配戴眼镜或隐形眼镜时更清晰。研究结果也显示更佳的对比视力。


SHINAGAWA激光系统的专用软件

应用飞秒激光制作角膜瓣或全激光手术法角膜与上皮瓣后,接由准分子激光重塑角膜。以下是本中心采用的准分子激光软件 - 快速激光AMARIS - 与制瓣的Intralase飞秒激光是不同的。

基本激光术

它可矫正视力问题如近视、远视和散光等。虽然本中心有提供这项治疗法,但运用次数较低。相反的,根据患者眼部的需求,下列几项特定的治疗法更常被使用。

波前优化激光术

波前优化激光术可塑造更自然的眼角膜型,因而减少夜间眩光的现象,并提高视觉的清晰度。术后,眼角膜型更平滑自然,让多数患者获益不浅。

波前引导激光术

波前引导激光术可矫正“高阶相差”,并改善视觉。高阶相差是眼内的偏差现象,可降低视力。患有大量偏差现象的人士可从该治疗获益。


LASIK Xtra

LASIK Xtra 是指激光手术和角膜胶原交联术的结合。

角膜胶原交联(CXL)是一种外科手术,用于增强薄弱的角膜。

Avedro KXL系统

Shinagawa 已备有更新的Avedro KXL系统,可透过胶原交联增强角膜。


Avedro KXL系统

继激光手术后更安全的LASIK Xtra™

除了交联圆锥角膜之外,Avedro KXL系统也可用于接受激光手术的患者上。激光术可削弱角膜,而该系统可透过交联术增强角膜的交联结构。激光术是运用准分子激光切除部分角膜组织,因而在术后造成薄弱的角膜。这种现象在眼镜度数较高的患者中更加显著。在少数的案例中,薄弱的角膜可能引起角膜前凸而扭曲,导致角膜膨隆。

LASIK Xtra™ 的机制

在激光手术后追加这项交联术只需多三分钟。

在激光疗程中运用准分子激光重塑角膜后,医生会在角膜表面抚上特制的交联药物,再将角膜瓣复位。Avedro KXL系统被定位在角膜前方后,便将紫外线照射在角膜上引起药物作用以交联胶原纤维,增强角膜。

LASIK Xtra™ 的安全水平

Avedro KXL附有CE标志,可在欧盟成员国内使用,也在加拿大和日本被批准使用。总体而言,交联治疗没有影响利用准分子激光纠正视力的准确性,而其副作用与激光手术的相同。

LASIK Xtra™

  • 一个以紫外线和核黄素增强角膜交联结构的系统。
  • 依照旧款仪器的原理而操作将近10年。
  • 改良后的技术确保更短的治疗时间、更精准及一致的疗效和更安全的疗程。
  • 可稳定角膜疾病,如圆锥角膜与角膜膨隆。
  • 有助于增强角膜,适合近视度交高或角膜较薄的患者。

激光手术的副作用

如同所有外科手术,激光手术也可能造成术后的一些副作用。这项手术的精准度非常高,但仍不能一律保证标准的视觉。手术后大部分的问题都是暂时性的,不会影响视力。一些副作用如下:


眼睛干涩
激光视力矫正手术后,眼睛干涩是常见的。用眼药水治疗即可。这种现象一般不会影响视力,也会在一至二个月内消退。


夜间视力问题
这是指在昏暗的灯光下注视明亮物体(如夜间亮起的车头灯)时,看到眩光和星爆状光点。此现象最常发生在夜间瞳孔放大和需要极度矫正视力的患者上。不是所有患者都会产生此副作用。

该副作用发生于治疗后的初期,并会在3至4个月内逐渐消失。医生会在手术前测量患者的瞳孔在昏暗灯光下的大小,继而通知患者他在手术后产生此现象的机率。


矫正过度或不足
这类情况是罕见的,通常鉴于1至3% 内。例如,一个患有900度近视的患者在矫正不足的情况下可能残留50度的近视。若有此情况出现,患者可在第一次激光治疗的三个月后进行一个追加手术。


发炎
因手术而引发感染是罕见的。相对的,配戴隐形眼镜而造成感染的机率甚高。(医生会在术中及术后给予抗生素,以防止此类事件)

分享: